Awake Again

Sleep seems to elude me lately.  I start to sleep and then all the aching of my heart and soul wake me with their questions.  In the quiet stillness of the night their voices are easily heard and difficult to ignore.  I know this feeling will pass, it always does but right now, I would give everything I have to be wrapped in your arms.  If only I could drift away into dreams and meet you there. Even dreams run from me now.  Sleep, come to me now on soft clouds. Wrap me up and carry me away to dreams only sweet.  Let my heart and soul slumber.  Will you hear me sleep, or will you leave me once again lying awake to hear the sounds of the night, the beating of my heart, thinking of love, so far away?

Leave a Reply

