The Dreame

 

The Dreame

 

Or Scorne, or pittie on me take,

 

I must the true Relation make,

 

I am undone to night;

 

Love in a subtle Dreame disguis’d,

 

Hath both my heart and me surpriz’d,

 

Whom never yet he durst attempt awake;

 

Nor will he tell me for whose sake

 

He did me the Delight,

 

Or Spight,

 

But leaves me to inquire,

 

In all my wild desire,

 

Of sleepe againe, who was his Aid;

 

And sleepe so guiltie and afraid,

 

As since he dares not come within my sight

 

Ben Jonson
1573-1637

Leave a Reply

