Ten Thousand

 

Ten thousand times I’ve closed my eyes and thought of you.

Ten thousand times I’ve whispered the words “I love you,”

as they fall to the wind and water.

Ten thousand times, my heart has ached for the sound of your voice

and the tenderness of your words as they whisper to me.

Ten thousand times I have wondered how a love can be so strong

how a bond between two people can be so powerful,

that words cannot capture what it is.

Ten thousand hours have passed since I found you,

and ten thousand days may come and go.

My love will be here, passing through the hours that come

and the days that go by, for it is home, this heart of mine.

Ten thousand times, my love, is so small a number

for a love that has waited so long to begin again.

2 thoughts on “Ten Thousand

Leave a Reply

